“A Trip to Unify”: Stepping into New Territory

Allison Kraft is a second year IUPUI Museum Studies masters candidate.IMG_9114

From August 2017 through January 2018, I had the pleasure and honor of working as the Curatorial Fellow for the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site. On a Friday morning in August before classes began, I met with Jennifer Capps, Vice President of Curatorship and Exhibition at the Presidential Site. She spoke with me about the chosen exhibit proposal from the 2016 Exhibit Planning and Design class at IUPUI, and I began what would be one of the greatest and most unique experiences I have had while in graduate school.

IMG_9136

The theme of this year’s New Century Curator exhibit is “A Trip to Unify,” which features President Harrison’s 1891 train trip through the South and West, spanning nearly 10,000 miles over the course of 31 days. The President and his party traveled through 21 states, and he gave nearly 150 speeches along the way. I began by researching the details of the trip, reading through the Mail and Express correspondent John S. Shriver’s transcription of President Harrison’s speeches, as well as the observations he provided.

IMG_9121

Over the course of six months, I selected artifacts for display, wrote artifact and narrative labels, designed the exhibit layout and its various components, and helped design the image that would be used for marketing. It was a new experience for me to have so many decisions to make in the development of an exhibit, and I was thankful to have the guidance of a truly wonderful and supportive staff. Charlie Hyde, President & CEO of the Presidential Site, Jennifer, and others allowed me to take the concept of “A Trip to Unify” and run with it. I felt a tremendous responsibility to convey an important message to the visitors who would visit the Presidential Site, and I wanted to make sure the exhibit reflected the mission and core values of the home of our 23rd president.

IMG_9116

At the beginning of my research, I read all of President Harrison’s speeches from the trip, many of which featured themes of pride in the United States, the significance of the Constitution and American Flag, and the hope for a prosperous future. I found myself inspired by the President’s words, and decided I wanted others to experience them, too. Visitors to “A Trip to Unify” are guided by the words of the people who were actually there in 1891. They can read Correspondent Shriver’s words that describe what he witnessed as he stood in the crowd among excited citizens eager to see the President. They can read excerpts from President Harrison’s speeches that speak of a brighter future. And finally, they can read sections of Mary Lord Dimmick’s diary, the niece of First Lady Caroline Harrison, who wrote about the excursions the presidential party made during the 31-day trip.

IMG_9127

Museum Studies students gathering at the exhibit opening.

I am extremely thankful to have had the opportunity to work as this year’s Curatorial Fellow and to have been surrounded by an exceptional Presidential Site staff. It is my hope that visitors to the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site read the words of the President and feel inspired, encouraged, and excited about what it means to be an American.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑